Designed after a bridge used by farmers to bring their grain to the mill in the 1800s, the Covered Bridge is one of the scenic highlights of Mill Creek Park. Construction of the Covered Bridge was completed in 1989 and was made possible by donations from The Land and Water Conservation Fund through The Ohio Department of Natural Resources, The Ward and Florence Beecher Foundations, The Youngstown Foundation and The J. Ford Crandall Memorial Foundation.
At the end of the 18th century the land surrounding a beautiful, natural waterfall, now known as Lanterman’s Falls, belonged to John Young, founder of Youngstown. In August 1797 Young’s surveyors, Isaac Powers and Phineas Hill, set out to explore the then unnamed Mill Creek.
Coming upon the Falls, the two men immediately recognized the potential of the site for a mill. Hill offered to purchase the 300 acres surrounding the Falls. Young stipulated, as a condition of the sale, that Hill must build a saw- and gristmill on...